Rough Magic Board

Gerard Smyth (Chair)

Gerard Smyth is a poet, critic and journalist. He has published eight collections of poetry, including, A Song of Elsewhere (Dedalus Press 2015), and The Fullness of Time: New and Selected Poems (Dedalus Press, 2010). He worked as a journalist with The Irish Times for many years, and retired from the position of Managing Editor in 2011. He continues to act as the newspaper’s poetry editor.  He was presented with a Business to Arts award for his role in establishing the Irish Times Irish Theatre Awards and other arts sponsorships. He the 2012 recipient of the O’Shaughnessy Poetry Award presented by the University of St Thomas in Minnesota and is co-editor, with Pat Boran, of If Ever You Go: A Map of Dublin in Poetry and Song (Dedalus Press) which was Dublin’s One City One Book in 2013. He is a member of Aosdána and also on the board of The Ark Cultural Centre for Children.

Appointed December 2011/Re-elected July 2018

Anne Byrne

Anne is one of the founding members of Rough Magic.

Appointed August 2019

Alison Cowzer

Alison is co-founder of East Coast Bakehouse – a large scale food manufacturing business based in Drogheda Co Louth, and spends some of her time on marketing, branding and strategy projects with a number of NGO’s.

Alison is a board member of Women for Election, a non-partisan organisation that provides training, mentoring and support to women interested in getting involved in political life and a member of the Advisory Board of GOAL, an international humanitarian organisation working to improve the lives of beneficiaries around the world.

Appointed 2019

Tanya Dean

Dr Tanya Dean completed her Doctor of Fine Arts with Yale School of Drama in 2016, where she also received her Master of Fine Arts in Dramaturgy and Dramatic Criticism in 2011. Tanya has lectured at Yale School of Drama, Yale University, and NUI Galway. She is the former General Manager for Irish Theatre Magazine, and also served as co-Managing Editor for Theater magazine. Tanya received the New Scholars’ Prize from the Irish Society for Theatre Research in 2013, and the New Scholars’ prize from the Society for Theatre Research in 2017. Her writing has appeared in Irish Theatre Magazine, Theatre History Studies, and numerous edited collections. Tanya is Associate Dramaturg of Then This Theatre Company in Dublin, and previously served as Artistic Director for the 2012 season of Yale Summer Cabaret, ‘50 Nights: A Festival of Stories,’ where she also directed The K of D by Laura Schellhardt. She was worked extensively as a freelance dramaturg across Ireland, the UK, and the USA. Tanya has also worked with Stewart Parker Trust, and sits on the literary panels for the Abbey Theatre and Druid Theatre company. From 2015-2017, Tanya served as a committee member for #WakingTheFeminists, and was a Research Associate on the report, Gender Counts: An analysis of gender in Irish theatre 2006-15.

Appointed 2017

William Earley

William practised as a solicitor in the field of company and commercial law in Dublin for nearly 40 years, 32 of them as a partner in McCann FitzGerald.  He founded the firm’s London office in 1986 and was head partner there until 1990.  He served as Managing Partner of the firm from 1993 to 1997.  He has during his career advised some of Ireland’s leading businesses and cultural institutions at board level. With a career-long interest in intellectual property and information technology he founded the firm’s Technology and Innovation Group in 1997 and served as partner (and latterly consultant) in that Group until his retirement in March 2012. William now concentrates on serving as director or in other advisory roles in the areas of technology, the arts and the voluntary sector, with an emphasis on contributing his experience to improving corporate governance.

Appointed Jan 2013/Re-elected September 2017

Anne Fogarty

Anne Fogarty is Professor of James Joyce Studies at University College Dublin and Director of the UCD James Joyce Research Centre. She was President of the International James Joyce Foundation 2008-2012. She has published widely on Joyce and aspects of twentieth-century and contemporary Irish writing. She was editor of the Irish University Review 2002-2009 and is founder and co-editor with Luca Crispi of the Dublin James Joyce Journal. She has co-directed three international James Joyce symposia in 2002, 2004 and 2012. She was Associate Director of the Yeats International Summer School 1995-1997 and has been Academic Director of the Dublin James Joyce Summer School since 1997. She is a member of the Board of Directors of the James Joyce Centre, 35 North Great George’s Street, Dublin.

Appointed June 2011/Re-elected September 2017

Roy Foster

Roy Foster was from 1991 the first Carroll Professor of Irish History at Oxford and a Fellow of Hertford College, retiring in 2016. He is a Fellow of the British Academy, the Royal Historical Society the Royal Society of Literature, a Member of the Academia Europea, and an Honorary Member of the Royal Irish Academy, and has received honorary degrees from the University of Aberdeen, Queen’s University of Belfast, Trinity College, Dublin, the National University of Ireland, Queen’s University, Canada the University of Edinburgh and University College Dublin as well as an Honorary Fellowship at Birkbeck College, University of London. His books include Charles Stewart Parnell: The Man and His Family (1976), Lord Randolph Churchill: A Political Life (1981), Modern Ireland 1600-1972 (1988), The Oxford Illustrated History of Ireland (1989), Paddy and Mr Punch: Connections in Irish and English History (1993), The Irish Story: Telling Tales and Making It Up in Ireland (2001), which won the 2003 Christian Gauss Award for Literary Criticism, W.B. Yeats, A Life. I: The Apprentice Mage 1865-1914 (1997) which won the 1998 James Tait Black Prize for biography, and Volume II: The Arch-Poet, 1915-1939 (2003), Luck and the Irish: a brief history of change 1970-2000 (2007), Words Alone: Yeats and his Inheritances (2011), and Vivid Faces: the revolutionary generation in Ireland 1890-1922 (2014), which won a British Academy Medal. He is also a well-known critic and broadcaster.

Appointed June 2011/Re-elected September 2017

Michelene Huggard

Fine Art painter with a BA (Hons) in Fine Art Paint, National College of Art and Design.

Appointed 2020

Eileen Punch

Eileen is an Associate Director of Development and Alumni in Trinity College, Dublin.

Appointed 2016

Bruce Stanley

A Fellow of Chartered Accountants Ireland and an AITI Chartered Tax Advisor, CTA, at HLB Sheehan Quinn, Bruce has over 15 years’ experience in practice. Bruce has experience across all taxheads, specialising in corporate structuring and personal tax planning for entrepreneurs and owner managed businesses.

Bruce has presented on a variety of taxation matters both in Ireland and at European conferences on topics such as EU VAT case law, the Irish Holding Company regime, personal tax planning and tax efficient business investment.

Bruce has experience of advising across a broad range of sectors including Hotels and Catering, Property Investment, Arts & Entertainment, Professional Services, Medical and Retail. With a keen interest in the arts and entertainment sector, Bruce also serves as a board member of Graphic Studio Dublin, Ireland’s oldest fine art print studio.

Appointed 2018

Join our mailing list